India, 5 Other South Asian Countries Removed From Singapore’s Travel Restriction List

Singapore: Indian and five other South Asian countries have been removed from Singapore’s travel restriction list on Saturday.

According to Singapore’s health ministry, travellers with a 14-day travel history to Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka will be permitted to enter or transit through Singapore from Wednesday, reported news agency PTI.

However, Singapore has made tightest of border measures, which involve a 10-day, stay-home notice period at a dedicated facility, the health ministry said.

According to a ministry release, it has reviewed the COVID-19 situation in the six South Asian countries it was previously closed off to.

Health minister Ong Ye Kung said while addressing a virtual press conference that the situation in these countries has stabilised for some time.

“There is no longer a need for strict rules that prevent travellers from these countries from landing here,” Ong was quoted as saying by the Straits Times.

ALSO READ: COVID-19: New Delta Variant AY.4.2 Rapidly Spreads Across Europe, Asia

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.