ISL-10: Odisha FC Lose After 4 Months, Conceding Stoppage-Time Goal

Chennai: Odisha FC’s remarkable 13-match unbeaten run in ISL-10 came to a halt as they lost 1-2 against Chennaiyin here on Sunday night.

It was a stoppage-time strike in the 94th minute by Australian striker Jordan Murray that broke Odisha FC’s hearts at the Nehru Stadium.

Not for the first time, Odisha FC conceded an early goal, in the sixth minute, from a setpiece. Wing-back Ankit Mukherjee rose above all to head in a Rafael Crivellaro corner kick.

But like they have done several times this season, Odisha FC fought tooth and nail. They survived some anxious moments before finding the equaliser in the 78th minute in a similar manner to the home team. This time, Roy Krishna headed home a corner from Cy Goddard.

Just when it seemed that Odisha would remain unbeaten in over months, Goddard delivered the sucker punch, once again off a corner.

Odisha FC, whose previous defeat in ISL-10 was on October 27 against Kerala Blasters, have now suffered three defeats this season – al away from home.

Despite the setback, the Kalinga Warriors stayed top of the table with 35 points from 18 matches.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.