KIIT Convocation: Dharmendra Pradhan Urges Students To Make Positive Impact On Lives Of Less Fortunate

Bhubaneswar: A total of 7,032 students of the 2020-21 graduating batch received their degrees at the 17th convocation ceremony of KIIT Deemed to be University, held in virtual mode.

Addressing the students, Union minister of Education and Skill Development & Entrepreneurship Dharmendra Pradhan urged them to make positive impact on less fortunate people.

“You have acquired several skills that will help you to achieve milestones in the years ahead. While you strive for excellence, I hope you also measure that excellence in terms of outcomes that help achieve the greater common goal that positively impacts people less fortunate than you,” Pradhan said.

The minister appreciated the contributions of KIIT in taking India to the top of global knowledge economy with its culture of quality research and quest for empirical accuracy.

He further said the University’s recent initiatives like academic bank of credit, multiple entry and exit system and National Education Technology Forum launched upon completion of the first year of the National Education Policy 2020 will be a catalyst for developing the quality higher education sector in India.

Maintaining strict COVID-19 guidelines, the University conferred Honoris Causa Degrees of D. Litt. on Mata Amritanandamayi Devi (Amma), Spiritual Leader, Guru & Humanitarian; Vallabh Bhanshali, Co-founder ENAM Securities, Founder Desh Apnayen Sahayog Foundation & Founder-Director FLAME University; and Prof. Jean-Marie Lehn, Noble Prize in Chemistry (1987), France.

Amma, known for her great contribution in the field of spiritualism, education, environmental issues, humanitarian efforts, love and compassion, dedicated the honour to her devotees and lauded Prof. Achyuta Samanta, Founder KIIT & KISS, for his humanitarian service.

Aayush Kumar, Basel Nassor and Sudhanshu Upadhyay were awarded Founder’s Gold medals for their outstanding all-round and academic performance. Similarly, 22 students received Chancellor’s Gold medals, while 31 got Vice-Chancellor’s Silver medals.

Nanibala Memorial Gold Medal, Krushna Chandra Panda Memorial Gold Medal, PK Bal Memorial Gold Medal and Paradeep Phosphates Ltd (PPL) Gold Medal were also presented.

As many as 61 research scholars were awarded Ph. D. degrees.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.