Know How Odisha Will Conduct Its Monsoon Session Of Assembly In COVID Times, No Question Hour

Bhubaneswar: Following the all-party meeting, Speaker Surya Narayan Patro on Friday said that COVID-19 tests of MLAs will be conducted from Saturday.

“Only those who test negative will be allowed to attend the monsoon session of the Assembly starting September 29,” he said.

The Speaker said the first day of the monsoon session will begin at 11 am. “There will be a 4-hour sitting from 11 am to 1 pm and again from 3 pm to 5 pm every day,” he said.

Patro further said that there will be no Question Hour and 12 Ordinances, which have been cleared by the state Cabinet, will be tabled during the session for discussion.

Sitting arrangements have been made in accordance with social distancing norms, he said.

Senior members, who are unable to attend the session, can do so from the district headquarters or their own office, where video conferencing facility is available. “They have to inform beforehand about it in writing,” he added.

Decisions taken at the all-party meeting are as follows:

  1. Adjournment of the House for an hour after obituary references for former President late Pranab Mukherjee, former MLAs Bishnu Charan Das, Madan Mohan Dutta and some police personnel on September 29.
  2. There will be no Question Hour during the entire fourth session.
  3. There will be a sitting on Sunday, October 4.
  4. Sitting arrangements for members in the Assembly Hall, visitors gallery, D.V. Gallery and Speaker’s Gallery.
  5. Time of each sitting day (11 am/10.30 am to 1 pm and 3 pm to 4.30 pm).
  6. Members will participate in the debate by standing/ sitting in their respective seats.
  7. Similarly, ministers will give answers by standing/sitting in their respective seats.
  8. Issuance of entry passes to the press (print media) to Assembly Hall and TV representatives to Assembly premises (outside the Assembly building).
  9. No lobby passes to be issued to any press or TV representatives or any other person other than members.
  10. Participation of members in House through video conference at OCAC Bhubaneswar, Conference Halls of the Lok Seva Bhawan, residential office of Chief Minister, Minister’s/Leader of Opposition/ Members and office of respective Collectors where video conference system have been installed.
  11. No papers, reports etc. to be distributed among members in the House except urgent nature i.e. amendments to Bill, the reply of a Minister etc.
    All such papers etc. will be distributed by Dak to members at their respective quarters.
  12. Sanitisation of Assembly Hall and premises daily by BMC.
  13. Supply of Corona preventive kit to members/media/officers and staff by Health and Family Welfare Department who will enter to the Assembly Hall.
    Corona test of all police personal to be engaged during the Assembly session.
    Restriction of entry of staff of ministers and their Corona test (P.S./A. P.S./ Peon/P.S.O. and driver).
  14. Restriction of entry of department officers with negative report after Corona test (Secretary of the Department concerned and two other officers).
  15. Laying of 12 numbers of Ordinances.
  16. Introduction, consideration and passing of 12  Ordinances replacing Bills along with other Bills.

Congress MLA Narasingha, however, has termed the decision to suspend Question Hour as illegal and unconstitutional.



Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.