Krishnika, Murli bag Nalinikanta Memorial Badminton titles

Bhubaneswar: Top seeded Krishnika Birok of Rourkela bagged the women’s singles trophy by defeating Yashashree Samal of Khudha 21-16, 13- 21, 21-16 in the 4th Nalinikanta Mohanty Memorial State Open Ranking Badminton Tournament, which concluded at East Coast Railway Stadium here on Sunday.

In the men’s singles final round, local favourite and sixth seeded K Murli Krishna caused a upset in the final day by eliminating top seeded Abhimanyu Bagarti 21-16,21-17 to win the men’s singles trophy.

Local boy Ashis Kumar Sethi and Gyan Chand achieved double in the tournament. Ashis bagged the U-19 boys singles title by beating Prajesh Kumar Murmu 21-18, 21-15 and partnered Shivsundar Mahallik to edge out Sibashish Bishi and Soumya Ranjan Panda 21-16, 18-21, 21-19 and claimed the U-19 doubles trophy.
Similarly, Gyan Chand grabbed the men’s doubles and mixed doubles titles. He along with Hoshana Toppo defeated Ranjit Kumar Banth and Krishnika Birok in the mixed doubles final. Gyan and Manas Ranjan Routray won over Bhubaneswar doubles team Ranjit Kiran Banth and Susant Rout 15-21, 21-17, 21-11 in the men’s doubles title clash.
Prajesh, who lost the U-19 boys singles trophy, won the U-17 boys singles title. He beat Abinash Mohanty in two straight sets 21-14,21-16 and was adjudged as the player of the tournament.
Second seeded Amrit Mohanty of Khurda pipped his districtmate top seeded Abhijit Maharana to the post, winning 21-16, 21-10 to lay seige on U-15 boy’s singles trophy.
Abhinash Mohanty and Indrajeet Jena received the U-17 boys’ doubles trophies by winning over Angul team Abhinash Samanta and Amlan Keshari Garnaik by 21-14,21-17, while Birja Prasad Kar and Trinath Dehury won the veteran doubles trophy.

Governor S C Jamir gave away the prizes as the chief guest of the closing ceremony in the presence of MLA Rajnagar Ansuman Mohanty, East Coast Railway’s General Manager Umesh Swain, Nalco CMD Tapan Chand, Angul Sukinda Railways MD Dillip Samantray and ABC president Pruthiv Ballav Pattnaik.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.