Meet The National Award-Winning ‘Transformative’ Teachers From Odisha

Bhubaneswar: President Ram Nath Kovind on Sunday felicitated 44 teachers, including two from Odisha, with the National Teachers Awards 2021 on the occasion of Guru Divas at a virtual function on Sunday.


The two teachers from Odisha are Ashok Kumar Satpathy of Zilla School in Bhadrak district and Ajit Kumar Sethy, acting head teacher of Kanamana Upper Primary School in Ganjam district.

The award comes in recognition for their success in improving their respective schools and making education appealing in economically backward, rural areas.

Odisha Bytes looks at the achievements of these two award-winning educators from the state.

Ajit Kumar Sethy

Sethy had joined Government UP School as a teacher in 2017. At that time, the school was a ramshackle structure with just two classrooms and without electricity or other basic amenities.

Given the sorry condition, most villagers were unwilling to send their children to school.

But then Sethi set about improving the school’s infrastructure. Thanks to his efforts, the school now has a power supply, three more classrooms, separate toilets for boys and girls, a nutri-garden and RO drinking facility.

The enrolment has also gone up to 108 from the mere 50 students in 2017.

Earlier, the state government had commended Sethi for his unique initiative to teach mathematics and science through songs, thereby making learning a joyful experience.

Ashok Kumar Satpathy

Satpathy has enrolled nearly 50 students from economically-backward section to the school since 2001.

He has connected these students with the school’s alumni who are willing to sponsor their education and supporting them financially to meet their expenses for additional learning materials.

At present, the school has 650 students from classes VI to X.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.