Minati Behera Appointed Biju Mahila Janata Dal President

Bhubaneswar: Ahead of the Assembly and Lok Sabha elections scheduled for next year, BJD president and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Sunday revamped the Biju Mahila Janata Dal, the frontal women’s wing of the party, and appointed well-known social activist Dr Minati Behera as its president in place of Pramila Mallik.

Mallik has been appointed as the vice-president and adviser, Jyoti Panigrahi and Kasturi Mohapatra as co-advisers; Srimayee Mishra, Lopamudra Baxipatra, Sulochana Das and Gitanjali Bastia as working presidents and Sulata Deo and Elina Das as general secretary and secretary respectively.

Notably, Lopamudra Baxipatra and Dr Minati Behera had resigned from their post as chairperson of State Commission for Women (SCW) and the commissioner of the State Commission for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD) respectively earlier in the day.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.