New Captain But Same Result As Odisha Suffer 3rd Loss In Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Kolkata: A change of guard failed to alter the Odisha senior cricket team’s fortunes in the ongoing Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 domestic meet here on Thursday.

Led by Biplab Samantray, after Subhransu Senapati stepped down from the captaincy on Wednesday, Odisha slumped to an eight-wicket defeat against Tamil Nadu at the Eden Gardens. It was Odisha’s third defeat in as many games in the six-team Elite Group B.

Choosing to bat first, Odisha managed a modest 132/9 in their 20 overs with Suryakant Pradhan’s 23 being the top score.

Tamil Nadu cantered to victory with 4.5 overs and 8 wickets to spare.

In their first two matches of the tournament, Senapati-led Odisha lost to Bengal and Hyderabad by 9 wickets and 6 runs, respectively.

In their remaining group games, Odisha will play Assam and Jharkhand. But even if they win both those fixtures, they are highly unlikely to advance to the next stage.

Also Read: Biplab Samantaray To Lead Odisha In Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.