New RS Members From Odisha To Take Oath In House Chamber

Bhubaneswar: The four newly elected members of Rajya Sabha from Odisha will take oath in the House chamber of the Parliament to maintain social distancing norm of COVID-19 on July 22.

The newly elected members are chairperson of the Odisha Construction Workers Welfare Board Subash Singh, former advisor of Special Development Council Sujeet Kumar, former president of minority cell Mujibulla Khan and member of the BJD women wing in Mayurbhanj district Mamata Mahanta. All the four were BJD nominees and were elected unopposed in March.

According to the official sources, this is for the first time that the members will be administered the oath in the House chamber during inter-session period. The ceremony is usually held during the Parliament session or in the chamber of Rajya Sabha Chairman when House is not in session.

One guest will be allowed to accompany each member to attend the ceremony, the sources said. The members, who will fail to attend the ceremony, will take the oath during the monsoon session.

In the last Rajya Sabha election, 61 members were elected from 20 states.


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.