Nitish Kumar Govt Wins First Trial Of Strength, Bihar Speaker Removed With 125 Votes

Patna: A no-confidence motion was approved in the Bihar assembly against Speaker Awadh Bihari Chaudhary from the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), resulting in his removal ahead of the floor test for the Nitish Kumar-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government on Monday.

The resolution was supported by 125 members while 112 voted against it.

Chaudhary had declined to resign even after his party lost power two weeks ago when Chief Minister Nitish Kumar’s withdrew from the ‘Mahagathbandhan’ and rejoined the BJP-led coalition.

The NDA government claims to have a majority, with 128 members backing the BJP-JD(U) alliance, while the ‘Mahagathbandhan, comprising RJD, Congress, and Left allies,’ reduced to 114. Additionally, there is one member from Hyderabad MP Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM, whose stance remains undisclosed.

In the 243-member Bihar Assembly, the crucial number for a majority is 122.

Additionally, Lalu Prasad Yadav’s faction faced a setback as three of their MLAs – Neelam Devi, Chetan Anand, and Prahlad Yadav – defected from the party and were seen sitting on the government side in the state assembly.

Ahead of the test, the Congress flew its MLAs to Hyderabad last week amidst fears of ‘poaching’, while RJD’s MLAs opted to remain together at Tejashwi Yadav’s residence. BJP leader Nityanand Rai asserted that all 78 MLAs of the saffron party were accommodated in a hotel in Patna.

Nitish Kumar’s JD(U) also arranged for 40 of its MLAs to stay at another hotel in Patna.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.