Nitish Kumar Takes Oath As Bihar CM For 4th Term, This Time With 2 Deputies

Patna: Nitish Kumar was on Monday sworn in as Bihar Chief Minister for a fourth straight term, but this time with two deputies – BJP’s Tarkishore Prasad and Renu Devi. They replaced Sushil Modi, who had been Deputy CM under Nitish for 15 years.

The NDA won a simple majority in the state polls, bagging 125 seats in the 243-member Bihar assembly. But it was BJP which emerged as the stronger partner with 74 seats while RJD claimed 43.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP president JP Nadda attended the function, while RJD boycotted the event.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.