No Question Hour In Parliament’s 18-Day Monsoon Session


New Delhi: A ‘no Question Hour’ resolution was passed this morning to mark the beginning of the Parliament’s 18-day Monsoon Session on Monday.

“It’s an extraordinary situation. When assemblies aren’t ready to meet for a single day, we, with around 800-850 MPs, are meeting here. There are so many ways to question the government, government isn’t running away from discussion,” Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi said in the Lok Sabha.

Defence Minister Rajnath Singh suggested that the Zero Hour can be used to question the government.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi expected the entire parliament to stand by India’s soldiers in the wake of border standoff with China. “We hope parliament and all members will unitedly send the message that the nation stands with our soldiers,” Prime Minister Modi said during the monsoon session on Monday.

Given coronavirus pandemic, the session will be held in two shifts — 9 am to 1 pm and 3 pm to 7 pm, except for September 14. The Rajya sabha is sitting in the morning shift and the Lok sabha in the evening on Monday only.

Private Members’ Bills will not be taken up during the session. Notifications were also issued by Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha Secretariats that there will be no breaks either. Both the houses though will function on Saturdays and Sundays.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.