Odisha Govt Lists Common Holidays For Higher Secondary Schools

Bhubaneswar: The Directorate of Higher Secondary Education has notified the list of common holidays for higher secondary schools (erstwhile junior colleges) in Odisha from January 8 to April 28.

The Directorate announced the list of common holidays in a letter to the principals of all government/ non-government (aided/block grant/ unaided/self-financing) Higher Secondary Schools.

The common holidays are:

Makar Sankranti/Pongal: January 14 (Wednesday)
Republic Day: January 26 (Tuesday)
Saraswati Puja: February 16 (Tuesday)
Panchayatraj Divas: March 5 (Friday)
Maha Shivaratri: March 11 (Thursday)
Holi: March 29 (Monday)
Utkal Divas: April 1 (Thursday)
Good Friday: April 2 (Friday)
Maha Vishbha Sankranti/Ambedkar Jayanti: April 14 (Wednesday)
Ram Navami: April 21 (Wednesday)

The Directorate has also directed the principals to “scrupulously follow” the instruction for the continuance of classes on all Sundays and not to avail any local/reserve holidays falling during the said period. Any deviation to this effect shall be viewed seriously, it added.

It may be mentioned that the School and Mass Education Department in its earlier notification had said that there will be 100 days of physical classes including all Sundays and holidays. However, taking note of the inconveniences of the teachers, the Department has partially modified its earlier notification.

Contrary to the order of the School and Mass Education Department, the Higher Education Department, in its notification has said that the physical classroom teaching shall be conducted on all days except the examination period, Sundays, January 26 (Republic Day), February 16 (Saraswati Puja) and April 1 (Utkal Divas).

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.