Odisha Govt To Create 34 New NACs, Upgrade 5 Existing NACs To Municipalities

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Saturday announced the formation of 34 new notified area councils (NACs) across 20 districts and the upgradation of five existing NACs into municipalities in four districts.

The five NACs that are being upgraded to municipalities are Boudhgarh in the Boudh district, Karanjia in the Mayurbhanj district, Kantabanji in the Balangir and Chatrapur and Aska NACs in Ganjam district, official sources said.

The decision was taken following 5T and Nabin Odisha Chairman V K Pandian’s district tours and keeping the demands of people along with development of the areas in mind.

The newly created NACs are Pallahada and Chhendipada in Angul district, Basta and Simulia in Balasore district, Paikamal and Veden in Bargarh district, Agarpada in Bhadrak district, Belapada and Sintala in Bolangir district, Binjharpur, Panikoili, Jaraka and Chandikhole in Jajpur district, Jayapatna in Kalahandi district, Raikia in Kandhamal district, Boriguma in Koraput district, Sinapali in Nuapada district, Chandili, Muniguda and Bisamakataka in Rayagada district, Dunguripali in Subarnapur district, Banei in Sundargarh district, Shergarh and Kukudakhandi in Ganjam district, Kantilo in Nayagarh district, Tangi and Begunia in Khordha district, Salepur, Badamba, Narasinghpur and Niali in Cuttack district, Betonati in Mayurbhanj district, Parjang in Dhenkanal district and Kantamal in Boudh district.

The creation of new NACs and municipalities was prompted by public demand and factoring in the rising population and socio-economic development of the state, the sources added.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.