Odisha: Naveen In BJD’s List Of 40 Star Campaigners For Brajarajnagar Bypoll

OB Bureau

Bhubaneswar: Biju Janata Dal (BJD) president and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik featured in the list of 40 star campaigners for Brajrajnagar by-election released by the party on Tuesday.

The Assembly seat is scheduled to go to polls on May 31 and is likely to witness a triangular fight between BJD’s Alaka Mohanty, former MLA Radharani Panda of BJP and Kishore Chandra Patel of Congress.

While Naveen may hit the campaign trail in Brajarajnagar if required, the list includes only two Ollywood actors – Arindam Roy and Akash Dasnayak. More BJD leaders from western Odisha and five women will campaign for the party.

As per the list submitted to the Election Commission of India by the BJP,  5 Union Ministers will campaign in support of its candidate in the byelection. They are Piyush Goel, Dharmendra Pradhan, Pralhad Joshi, Aswini Viashnaw and Biseswar Tudu.

Also Read: Brajrajnagar Bypoll In Odisha: 5 Union Ministers Figure In BJP’s Star Campaigners List

Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel and youth leader Kanhaiya Kumar will campaign for Congress candidate Kishore Chandra Patel. Odisha in-charge A Chellakumar, OPCC president Niranjan Patnaik, Kantabanji MLA Santosh Singh Saluja, former OPCC president Sarat Patnaik, former OPCC president Jayadev Jena, Barabati-Cuttack MLA Mohammed Moquim, Balangir MLA Narasingha Mishra, Jeypore MLA Tara Prasad Bahinipati and Jatni MLA Suresh Kumar Routray will also participate in the campaign.

Also Read: Brajrajnagar Bypoll: Chhattisgarh CM Bhupesh Baghel & Youth Leader Kanhaiya Among Odisha Cong Star Campaigners

A total of 2,14,261 voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in the bypoll, which was necessitated due to the death of Brajarajnagar MLA of BJD Kishore Kumar Mohanty on December 30 last year. While the bypoll will be held from 7 am to 6 pm on May 31, the counting of votes will take place on June 3.

Also Read: 14 Candidates Left In Fray After Scrutiny Of Nominations For Odisha’s Brajrajnagar Bypoll

OB Bureau

Recent Posts

KISS Premises In Bhubaneswar All Set For Rath Yatra Tomorrow

Bhubaneswar: Shrivani Khetra on the premises of KISS in Odisha capital is all set for…

June 30, 2022

Dating Rumours With Siddharth: Kiara Is ‘Very Happy’ In Personal & Professional Life

Mumbai: Kiara Advani and Siddharth Malhotra’s relationship has been the subject of speculation for several…

June 30, 2022

Berhampur University Professor & 2 Students Arrested On Separate Charges

Berhampur: Police have arrested a professor of Berhampur University in Odisha's Ganjam district for alleged…

June 30, 2022

Despite Violent Protests, Agnipath Scheme Draws Good Response

New Delhi: Violent protests across the country against the government’s new scheme notwithstanding, Agnipath has…

June 30, 2022

Assistant Engineer Arrested For Having 263% More Assets Than Known Income Sources In Odisha’s Cuttack

Cuttack: Vigilance on Thursday arrested assistant engineer Pravat Kumar Rout for possession of disproportionate assets…

June 30, 2022

Union Minister Inaugurates 2 Kendriya Vidyalayas In Odisha’s Angul

Angul: Union Education Minister Dharmendra Pradhan on Thursday inaugurated two Kendriya Vidyalayas (KVs) in Odisha's…

June 30, 2022