Odisha Nominates Para Shuttler Pramod Bhagat For Khel Ratna, Hockey Star Deep Grace For Arjuna Award

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha government has nominated the world’s number one para-badminton player Pramod Bhagat and woman hockey star Deep Grace Ekka for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Award respectively for 2021.

The two sportspersons have qualified for the Tokyo Olympics.

A native of Attabira in Bargarh district, Bhagat has won 45 international medals including 23 gold, 9 silver and 13 bronze from 2013 to 2020. In recognition of his sterling performance, he was conferred with the Arjuna Award and the Biju Patnaik Sports Award Odisha in 2019.

Also Read:
Hockey India Ignores Players From Odisha For Arjuna Award

Deep Grace, who has been representing the Indian women’s team since 2011, has played 202 matches. She will lead the women’s team as vice-captain in the Tokyo Olympics.

On June 26, the Sports and Youth Services department had nominated ace woman sprinter Dutee Chand for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, the highest sporting honour of the country, hockey defender and Olympian Birendra Lakra for the Arjuna Award, former woman sprinter Anuradha Biswal for the Dhyan Chand Award for lifetime achievement in sports and games, and eminent hockey coach Kalu Charan Choudhury for the Dronacharya Award.

Also Read: Dutee Chand In Race For Khel Ratna Award, Anuradha Biswal For Lifetime Achievement

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.