Odisha To Have Striking Fire Force, CM Approves Proposal

Bhubaneswar: Odisha is all set to have a 144-member Striking Fire Force equipped with state-of-the-art gadgets and modern equipment to ensure speedy rescue operations during various disasters, particularly fire mishaps.

A proposal to form such a force within the Odisha Fire Services was approved on Monday by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, who emphasised the need to make the fire service more efficient and active.

As per the decision taken at a meeting, there will be three Range headquarters of the Striking Fire Force in Cuttack, Sambalpur and Berhampur zones of the state. For each Range Headquarter, 48 posts will be created and the force will have a total of 144 officers and personnel.

It was decided that the new force will be equipped with modern gadgets and state-of-the-art equipment and imparted new skills to make it efficient.

The force will have Assistant Fire Officers, Station Officers, Assistant Station Officers, Havildar Major, Driver Havildar, Havildar Mechanic, Leading firemen, Fireman Driver and Firemen.

During natural calamities, man-made disasters and accidents, the Odisha Fire Service organisation has been acting as a ‘First Responder’ to provide quick and efficient service to the people. Significant assistance is also being extended by the Fire Service during natural calamities outside the state.

Therefore, the need for a special force equipped with modern skills and gadgets to effectively tackle any calamity was highlighted at the meeting.

The meeting was conducted by Secretary to the Chief Minister (5T) V K Pandian, while Director General of Police, Fire Services, Santosh Upadhyay gave a detailed account of the proposal for the new force.


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.