Odisha’s biggest oil terminal at Jharsuguda to be inaugurated on Nov 29

Jharsuguda: The biggest oil terminal of Odisha is scheduled to be inaugurated at Malimunda in Jharsuguda on November 29,  Indian Oil Corporation Limited (IOCL) officers informed here on Monday.

The terminal, built at an investment of Rs 140 crore, is aimed at uninterrupted and automated delivery of fuel  to 10 districts of western Odisha, viz., Bargarh, Bolangir, Deogarh, Jharsuguda, Keonjhar, Kalahandi, Sundergarh, Sambalpur, Subarnapur and Nuapada, IOCL officers told a press conference. General Manager (MC), Paradip, Pitamber Tripathy addressed the media in the presence of GM (operation), S K Ravi Kumar, CDRSM, Sambalpur DO, Achintya Chakraborty and Senior Manager  (Corporate Communication) Srinivash Patra.

IOCL officers said the terminal at Jharsuguda is part of the Union Government’s endeavour to build the biggest oil terminal in Odisha. Union Minister for Petroleum and Natural Gas, Skill Development & Entrepreneurship Dharmendra Pradhan is slated to attend the inaugural ceremony as the chief guest. Odisha Minister of Housing, Urban Development &  Industries, Niranjan Pujari, Bargarh MP Prabhas Kumar Singh, Jharsuguda MLA Naba Kishore Das and Brajarajnagar MLA Radharani Panda will be the guests of honour.

According to IOCL, the terminal at Jharsuguda has safe and efficient TT Bottom loading facilities, automated quality and quantity control, automated scheduling and automated tank farm management. The project aims to generate enormous employment in Odisha indirectly in terms of haulage and housekeeping, security, maintenance, canteen and TT crew etc.

The total tank capacity is 49000 kilo litre (coverage 22 days) with 2200 kl per day sale of petrol, diesel and kerosene to cater to more than 350 sale points (245 number ROs, 114 nos consumers and 27 nos SKO agencies) within a radius of 550 km round the year supply.

Similarly, the renovation of oil depot at Jatni at a cost of Rs 70 crore is being done to cater to 13 districts of Odisha, viz., Angul, Boudh, Cuttack, Dhenkanal, Ganjam, Gajapati, Khurda, Nayagarh, Puri, Kandhamal, Rayagada, Malkangiri and Kalahandi.

These projects receive product through 1069 km length Paradip- Raipur -Ranchi Pipeline at an investment of Rs 1100 crore. The total investment in the three projects in Odisha is Rs 1310 crore, the officers added.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.