‘One Nation One Election’: Odisha Cadre IAS Officer Niten Chandra Named Secretary; Shah, Ghulam Nabi Among Panel Members

New Delhi: Odisha cadre IAS officer Niten Chandra has been nominated as secretary of the High Level Committee on ‘One Nation One Election’.

The Union Law ministry on Saturday notified the formation of a high-level committee to examine the feasibility of ‘One Nation One Election’ proposal.

A day after it came to light that former President Ram Nath Kovind will head the panel, the names of other members were announced on Saturday.

Union Home minister Amit Shah, Congress Lok Sabha leader Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, former leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha Ghulam Nabi Azad, ex-chairman of 15th Finance Commission NK Singh, former Lok Sabha general secretary Subash Kashyap, senior advocate Harish Salve, former chief Vigilance Commissioner Sanjay Kothari make up the Kovind-headed committee.

Union Minister of State (Law) Arjun Ram Meghwal will attend the meetings of the committee as a special invitee.

The committee will examine and make recommendations on the matter of conducting simultaneous elections for Lok Sabha, state legislative Assemblies, municipalities and panchayats, keeping in mind existing framework under the Constitution of India and other statutory provisions.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.