Panel To Recommend Name For OHRC Chairperson, Members Tomorrow


Bhubaneswar: The selection committee will recommend the names for the appointment of the chairperson and two members of the Odisha Human Rights Commission (OHRC) at a meeting here on Tuesday.

Official sources said that Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, leader of the Opposition, Pradipta Naik and Speaker of the Odisha Assembly, Surya Narayan Patra and the chief secretary of the selection committee will have a meeting at the State Guest House at 6.15 pm and recommend the names of the chairperson and two members of the OHRC.

The post of the OHRC chairperson has been lying vacant since August 15 this year after the completion of tenure of Justice Bira Kishore Mishra, who was working as the acting chairperson. Of the three members of the Commission, Justice Raghubir Dash, a former judge of the Orissa High Court, was recently appointed as a member.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.