Pipili Bypoll: Odisha BJP Retains Ashrit Pattnayak As Its Candidate

Bhubaneswar: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday retained Ashrit Pattnayak as its candidate for by-election to Pipili Assembly constituency in Puri district scheduled to be held on April 17.

Pattnayak, who had contested as BJP nominee from Pipili in 2019 elections, had lost to BJD contestant Pradeep Maharathy by 14,787 votes. He was also nominated by the saffron party in 2014 elections.

While the ruling BJD is yet to announce its candidate for the bypoll, the Congress has shortlisted the names of three aspirants and will announce the name of its candidate before March 30.

Also Read: Pipili Bypoll: Final List Of Cong Candidate Before March 30, Says OPCC Chief

The bypoll has been necessitated after the death of Maharathy on October 4 last year.

The Chief Electoral Officer’s (CEO) office has notified that the filing of nomination will be held from March 23 to 30. The verification of the nominations will be done on March 31 while the last date for withdrawal of the nominations is April 3.

Also Read: Odisha: Election Officer Notifies Dates For Pipili Bypoll

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.