Pradip Amat elected speaker of assembly

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Bhubaneswar: BJD leader and former finance minister Pradip Amat was on Tuesday unanimously elected as the speaker of Odisha legislative assembly.

Deputy speaker Sanand Marandi announced Amat as the speaker following a voice vote in the House.

On Monday, the BJD had moved a motion before the assembly secretary to elect Amat to the post. A special session was also convened on Tuesday, when chief minister Naveen Patnaik moved a resolution for the election, and the same was seconded by parliamentary affairs minister Bikram Arukh.

After being elected, Amat said he will ensure a congenial environment for smooth functioning of the assembly by maintaining a cordial relationship with all members of the House.

The election was necessitated following the resignation of Niranjan Pujari, who was inducted in the ministry during the recent reshuffle.

This is Amat’s second term as speaker as he earlier held the post from May 25, 2009 to May 20, 2014.



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.