Rohit Sharma, Manika Batra Among Five To Be Conferred Rajiv Khel Ratna Award


New Delhi: Opener Rohit Sharma is all set be conferred the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award.

Four other sportspersons who have been chosen for this prestigious award are table tennis star Manika Batra, wrestler Vinesh Phogat, Indian women’s hockey team player Rani Rampal and para-athlete Mariappan Thangavelu.

The selection committee for the National Sports Award 2020, headed by Justice (Retd) Mukundakam Sharma (former Judge of Supreme Court of India) and comprising a clutch of eminent sportspersons, chose 27 for Arjuna Award, 15 for Dhyanchand Award and eight coaches for Dronacharya award in Lifetime category.

Rohit, one of India’s most prolific run-scorers in the last two years, is only the fourth cricketer to be bestowed with the Rajiv Khel Ratna award, the three previous ones being Sachin Tendulkar, Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Virat Kohli.

Following is the list of Rajiv Khel Ratna and Dronacharya Award winners:

Also Read: Arjuna Award For Odisha’s Dutee Chand

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.