Sarala Puraskar for Banaja Devi

Bhubaneswar: Noted Odia writer Banaja Devi has been chosen for the 38th Sarala Puraskar for ‘Kathapua’, a compilation of 20 of her short stories. The Sarala Puraskar Committee announced this here Friday. The award carries a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh and a citation.

Similarly, Ila Panda Sangeet Samman for Music and Ila Panda Chitrakala Samman for Art will be conferred on Pandit Guru Ghasiram Mishra and Durga Prasad Das respectively. They will receive a cash prize of 1.5 lakh and a citation each.

Writer Padmashree Mamang Dai will be the chief guest of the function, where these distinguished personalities will be felicitated, to be held on October 26.

The annual Sarala Award was instituted in 1979 by Indian Metals Public Charitable Trust (IMPaCT), the charitable wing of IMFA Group.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.