SEC Releases List Of Reserved Seats For Panchayat Elections In Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The State Election Commission (SEC) on Tuesday published the list of reserved seats for election to panchayatiraj institutions (PRIs).

As per a notification of the SEC, of the total 853 zilla parishad member posts in the state, 64 seats have been reserved for scheduled caste (SC), 100 for scheduled tribe, 84 for SC women, 118 for ST women, 40 for backward caste community (BCC) and 55 for BCC women.

While 207 ZP seats remain unreserved for general candidates, 176 are reserved for women (General).

Of the total 6794 sarpanch seats, 426 are reserved for SC candidates, 525 for SC women, 1237 for ST, 1376 for ST women, 349 for BCC, 429 for BCC women and 1170 for women (general). Total 1282 sarpanch seats remain unreserved.

Of 6793 panchayat samiti seats in the state, the SEC has notified that 515 seats are reserved for SC candidates, 682 for SC women, 824 for ST, 1033 for ST women, 395 for BCC, 518 for BCC women and 1305 for women (general) while 1521 seats are not reserved.

Earlier in the day, the SEC announced that the panchayat elections will be held in 6,794 gram panchayats (GPs) barring 7 GPs in the districts of Balasore, Nayagarh and Bargarh districts.

Also Read: Odisha: 7 Panchayats In 3 Districts Excluded From Elections; Know Why – Odisha Bytes

Also ReadOdisha Panchayat Poll: SEC Raises Expenditure Limit For Candidates & Increases Polling Time


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.