Shashi Tharoor, Rajdeep Sardesai, Mrinal Pande, Others Booked For Sedition

New Delhi: Following the violence in New Delhi on January 26, the Noida police booked Congress MP Shashi Tharoor, journalists Mrinal Pande, Rajdeep Sardesai, Vinod K Jose (Caravan) and others for sedition.

According to an FIR lodged at the Sector-20 police station on Thursday, all of them were accused of tweeting and spreading fake news about the farmer’s death during the tractor rally on the Republic Day.

The Group Editor-in-Chief of National Herald Zafar Agha and Caravan editor Ananth Nath were also named in the FIR, according to news agency IANS.

The journalists and politicians were booked under sections 153A (Promoting enmity between different groups on grounds of religion, race, place of birth, residence, language, etc., and doing acts prejudicial to maintenance of harmony), 153B (Imputations, assertions prejudicial to national-integration), 295A (Deliberate and malicious acts, intended to outrage religious feelings of any class by insulting its religion or religious beliefs), 298 (Uttering, words, etc., with deliberate intent to wound the religious feelings of any person), 504 (Intentional insult with intent to provoke breach of the peace), 506 (Criminal Intimidation), 505(2) (Statements conducing to public mischief), 124-A (Sedition), 34 (Acts done by several persons in furtherance of common intention) and 120-B (Punishment of criminal conspiracy) of the Indian Penal Code and section 66 of the Information Technology Act, 2000.

Meanwhile, a video showing a protester speeding and running over barricades with his tractor before overturning near the ITO causing his death was released by the Delhi Police. According to the post-mortem report, the protester died due to the accident.

ALSO READ: Delhi Cops Book Actor Deep Sidhu For Tractor Rally Violence

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.