Six Players In Race: Will Odisha’s Pramod Bhagat Be World Para Shuttler Of The Year?

New Delhi: The Badminton World Federation (BWF) on Thursday shortlisted six players for the newly-introduced male para badminton player of the year award. Among them is Odisha’s pride and Tokyo Paralympics gold-medallist Pramod Bhagat.

Bhagat, who is the reigning world champion, clinched a historic gold medal in men’s singles SL3 class in the Tokyo Games in September.

Also Read: Naveen Felicitates Gold Medal Winner In Tokyo Paralympics Pramod Bhagat

Fellow-Indian Manoj Sarkar, who bagged bronze medal in men’s singles SL3 class in Tokyo Paralympics, has also been nominated.

Bhagat, the reigning world champion, clinched a historic gold medal in Tokyo Paralympics in September. He is currently world No. 1 and Asian champion in SL3 category, in which athletes with lower limb impairment compete.

He was recently honoured with the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna award.

The 33-year-old Bhagat contracted polio when he was just four. He took to badminton after watching neighbours play the racket sport. He initially pitted his skills against able-bodied shuttlers but in 2006, decided to try his luck in competitive para badminton.

No Indian made the list of nominees in able-bodied categories.

The winners will be announced during the BWF World Tour meet in Bali (Indonesia), three weeks’ time.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.