Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Odisha No Match For Sanju Samson-Powered Kerala

Mumbai: Sanju Samson may have missed out on World Cup selection, but the wicketkeeper-batsman continues to attract selectors’ attention on the domestic circuit.


The Kerala skipper hit an unbeaten 55 off 31 balls (4×4, 4×6) to deflate Odisha’s challenge in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (T20) clash at DY Patil Stadium here on Wednesday.

Samson’s typically hard-hitting knock helped Kerala reach 183/4 in 20 overs. Odisha stumbled in the chase and were bowled out for 133.

There were useful contributions from Tarani Sa (3/31) and Subhranshu Senapati (37 off 23 balls, 4×4, 1×6), but those were not enough for Odisha.

It was Odisha’s third defeat in six matches. With 12 points and a game in hand, their chances of qualifying for the knockouts are all but over.

Brief scores: Kerala 183/4 in 20 overs (Sanju Samson 55 not out, Varun Nayanar 48, Vishnu Vinod 35; Tarani Sa 3/31). Odisha 133 all out in 18.1 overs (Subhranshu Senapati 37, Rajesh Dhuper 28, Govinda Poddar 27; Jalaj Saxena 5/17, Shreyas Gopal 4/18).

Result: Kerala won by 50 runs.

Points position: Odisha 5th in Group B (12 points in 6 games), Kerala 1st (24 points in 6).

Odisha’s next match: Vs Chandigarh (Oct 27).

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.