Thunderstorm, Lightning Warning For 17 Districts Of Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The regional meteorological centre of the India Meteorological Department (IMD) issued thunderstorm and lightning alert for 17 districts of Odisha on Friday.

The alert has been sounded for Cuttack, Khurda, Puri, Bhadrak, Balasore, Nayagarh, Nuapada, Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Ganjam, Gajapati, Rayagada, Dhenkanal, Angul, Kandhamal, Keonjhar and Mayurbhanj districts.

The latest Doppler weather radar and satellite imageries indicate that thunderstorm accompanied with lightning and moderate rainfall is likely to occur over one or two places of these districts by 7.45 pm, a Met bulletin said.

People in these districts have been advised to stay indoors or shift to safe locations, if such weather conditions prevail.

Average rainfall recorded in the state for the last 24 hours is 4.1 mm.

The weatherman has predicted that a low pressure is likely to be formed over north Bay of Bengal and neighbourhood on August 19. Under its influence, several parts of the state would experience heavy rainfall from August 19 night.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.