Two Litterateurs From Odisha To Get Sahitya Akademi Award 2022

Bhubaneswar: Odia writers Narendra Prasad Das and Dillip Behera figured in the list of names for the prestigious Sahitya Akademi Awards 2022 announced on Wednesday. 

Das has been selected for the Sahitya Akademi Bal Sahitya Puraskar-2022 for his book “Kolahala na Halahala” while Dillip Behera will receive the Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puraskar 2022 for his Odia anthology of stories ‘Lanthan’.

They will receive a casket containing an engraved copper plaque and a cheque of Rs 50,000 at a special function to be held in New Delhi on November 14.

Congratulating the writers from Odisha, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik tweeted on Thursday, “May it be a source of inspiration for all and wish them both more success in enriching Odia literature.”

Notably, 22 writers from different languages from across the country have been selected for the awards. The books were selected on the basis of recommendations made by the jury, comprising three members each in the concerned language.



Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.