Two Teachers From Odisha To Be Conferred With National Award

Bhubaneswar: The Union Education Ministry has released the names of 47 teachers from across the country to be conferred the National Teachers Award, 2020.

The list includes two teachers from Odisha, Basant Kumar Sahu from Boudh district and Tapas Kumar Mohanty from Khurda district.

Basant is the acting headteacher of the Government Upper Primary School, Sarasara at Harabhanga and Tapas is a teacher of Bhima Bhoi School for the Blind under Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation.

These two teachers were selected out of the six nominations filed from Odisha.

According to a circular issued by the ministry, the Department of School Education and Literacy constituted an Independent Jury at National Level to select the award recipients for 2020.

“The Independent Jury at National Level reviewed the list of 153 teachers as shortlisted by all the 36 State and UT Selection Committees and seven Organisation Selection Committees through video conferencing,” the circular said.

The jury considered the applications and presentations made by all the shortlisted teachers and recommended the names after detailed deliberations. The names were then approved by Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank.

Last year, a teacher from Odisha’s Koraput district, Pabitra Mohan Dash, had received the award for his simple science lessons.

Also Read: Odisha Teacher To Receive National Award For Simple Science Lessons

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.