Vizag To Be Andhra Pradesh’s New Capital; Check CM Jagan Reddy’s Announcement

New Delhi: Andhra Pradesh is set to have a new capital.

Chief Minister Jagan Mohan Reddy announced on Tuesday that Visakhapatnam, or Vizag will be the new capital of the southern state.

Amaravati had been the capital since Telangana was carved out of the bigger state in June 2014.

“I am here to invite you to Visakhapatnam, which will be our capital. I will also be shifting to Vizag,” Jagan said while speaking at the International Diplomatic Alliance Meet in New Delhi.

As the headquarters, Vizag will have the Governor’s residence. The legislature will operate from Amaravati.

The high court, on the other hand, would be relocated to Kurnool.

Kurnool was the capital when Andhra Pradesh was divided from then-Madras state in 1953.

Thereafter, the capital was shifted to Hyderabad. Following the division of the state into Andhra and Telangana in 2014, Hyderabad was part of the new state and has been serving as its capital since then.

Jagan said a worldwide investors summit will be held in the coastal city on March 3 and 4.

“I personally invite all of you to come over there, but also to put in a strong good word to your colleagues outside to visit us and experience for yourselves how easy it is to do business in our state of Andhra Pradesh,” Jagan added.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.