[Watch] India Clinch T20 World Cup For Blind For Third Straight Time

Bengaluru: India outplayed Bangladesh here on Saturday to lift the T20 World Cup Cricket for the Blind for the third time in a row.

India rode centuries by Sunil Ramesh and skipper Ajay Kumar Reddy to post 277 and then restricted Bangladesh to 157/3 to win by 120 runs.

Watch India’s winning moment in the video posted by Doordarshan Sports:

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated the Indian team for the hattrick of titles.

“India is proud of our athletes. Delighted that we have won the T-20 World Cup for the Blind. Congratulations to our team and best wishes to them for their future endeavours,” Modi tweeted.

Opting to bat first at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium, India lost two quick wickets with just 29 runs on the board. Ramesh and Reddy then put their heads down and guided India to a big total.

Ramesh smashed an unbeaten 136 off 63 balls, while skipper Reddy made 100 not out off 50 deliveries as the duo added 248 runs for the third wicket.

Indian bowlers then kept the Bangladesh batsmen under a tight leash. Lalit Meena and Ajay Kumar picked up a wicket each to help India win by a convincing margin.

The other teams which took part in the third T20 World Cup for Blind were Australia, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal and South Africa.

In the previous two editions, held in 2012 and 2017, India had beaten Pakistan in both finals to emerge champions.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.