2 Odisha Universities, In Rourkela And Baripada, Among 24 Declared ‘Fake’ By UGC

New Delhi: Two Odisha universities are among 24 in the country which have been declared as ‘fake’ by the University Grants Commission (UGC) on Wednesday.

They are Navabharat Shiksha Parishad in Rourkela and North Orissa University of Agriculture & Technology in Baripada.

“Students and public are informed that currently 24 self-styled, unrecognised institutions are functioning in contravention of the UGC Act, which have been declared as fake universities and these are not empowered to confer any degree,” UGC Secretary Rajnish Jain said.

Besides the two in Odisha, the other universities listed as ‘fake’ are from Uttar Pradesh (8), Delhi (7), West Bengal (2) and one each from Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, Puducherry and Karnataka.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.