Bihar Election 2020: BJP-Led NDA Gets Majority; RJD Single Largest Party

Patna: The National Democratic Alliance (NDA), comprising BJP, JD(U), Hindustani Awam Morcha and Vikassheel Insaan Party, reached the majority mark — 122 seats — emerging winners in the Bihar Assembly Election 2020. The Grand Alliance, consisting of RJD, Congress, CPI and others, were defeated by a narrow margin.

The counting of votes saw fortunes swinging with the Mahagathbandhan (Grand Alliance) taking in the lead in the initial phase. Subsequently the NDA was ahead for several hours. The suspense ended with the NDA reaching the majority mark, together winning 125 seats (122 needed), and is all set to retain power in the eastern state.

The Tejashwi Yadav-led RJD put up a strong fight, emerging as the single largest party in the state.

The BJP, which contested 110 seats, won 74 and while its ally JD(U), which fought in 115 constituencies, won 43 seats. With four seats each won by junior partners HAM and VIP, the NDA secured 125 seats, three more than the number required for a simple majority.

The opposition Grand Alliance fell short of the magic figure. The total number of seats won by all its five constituents stood at 110.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.