IPL To Have 10 Teams In 2022 Edition; BCCI To Back ICC Bid To Include T20 In 2028 Olympics

New Delhi: The Indian Premier League will have two more teams, making it a tournament of 10 teams from 2022 edition.

Board of Control for Cricket in India BCCI) took this decision at its annual general meeting (AGM) in Ahmedabad on Thursday. The IPL is currently contested among eight teams.

The tournament, which started with 8 teams in 2008, included two more teams in 2011.

However, the Pune Warriors India and Kochi Tuskers Kerala, which had joined the league in the fourth edition, were withdrawn a year later as they breached BCCI’s terms of conditions.

In another development, the Board, in principle, decided to back the ICC’s bid for inclusion of cricket, in T20 format, in the 2028 Los Angeles Olympics after getting some clarifications from the International Olympic Committee, according to a Hindustan Times report.

It was also decided that all first-class players (men and women) will be suitably compensated for the curtailed domestic season due to COVID-19 pandemic.

The BCCI plans to get the domestic season underway, after several months’ delay, with the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 championship in January.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.