Modi Only The 3rd PM To Return To Power With Absolute Majority


New Delhi: Narendra Modi is only the third Prime Minister in independent India to return to power for a second term with full majority in Lok Sabha.

The country’s first Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru won around three-fourths of the Lok Sabha seats in the first elections in the country in 1951-52 and was able to win the 1957 and 1962 general elections with full majority.

In the 1967 elections, his daughter Prime Minister Indira Gandhi got 283 seats in the Lok Sabha elections.

She came up with the famous slogan ‘garibi hatao’ in this term. As a result, she was able to increase her tally to 352 in the 1971 elections for her second term.

With the development plank, Narendra Modi rode home to power in the 2014 elections with 282 seats. And in 2019 elections, he has bettered his performance, winning as many as 300 seats as per the latest election trends.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.