New Zealand World Test Champions As Indian Batting Collapses Again

Southampton: New Zealand were crowned World Test champions after they beat India by 8 wickets in the final of the inaugural World Test Championship at Southampton on Wednesday.

In a low-scoring, weather-interrupted match, Indian batsmen cut a sorry figure for the second time in the game to be bowled out for a modest total of 170.

New Zealand, chasing 139 for a historic win, suffered a couple of early hiccups as off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin sent back openers Tom Latham and Devon Conway.

But the experienced pair of skipper Kane Williamson and former captain Ross Taylor calmed nerves in the New Zealand dressing room with a solid unbeaten partnership of 96 runs to take the team past the finishing line.

While the bowlers performed well in conditions which suited them for most of the match, the batsmen let the team down. India, put into bat first, managed 217 in the first innings and well under 200 in the second essay.

With an entire day and almost half of another day being lost due to rain and wet ground conditions, the extra day’s provision was taken up on Wednesday.

India, resuming their second innings on 64 for 2, depended on Cheteshwar Pujara, skipper Virat Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane to bat long enough to ensure at least a draw.

But Kyle Jamieson dismissed both Kohli and Pujara, while Trent Boult got rid of Rahane early in the day to all but snuff Indian hopes.

Though New Zealand took their time to reach the target, their win was never in doubt.

Scores: India 217 & 170. New Zealand 249 & 140/2. NZ won by 8 wickets.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.