Odisha Municipal Polls: Bhubaneswar, Cuttack Congress Mayor Candidates File Nomination Papers

Bhubaneswar/Cuttack: Congress party’s Mayor candidate for Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation, Madhusmita Acharya, filed nomination papers on Sunday.

She was accompanied by senior party leaders, including OPCC president Niranjan Patnaik and Jatni MLA Sura Routray.

The Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee on Friday named Madhusmita Acharya as its candidate for the post of Mayor of Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation (BMC).

Also Read: Madhusmita Acharya Is Congress’ Bhubaneswar Mayor Candidate

The party’s Cuttack Mayor candidate Giribala Behera also filed her nomination papers on the day. She was accompanied by Cuttack-Barabati MLA Mohammed Moquim and other senior leaders.

Speaking to mediapersons after filing the papers Giribala said, “I have been constantly working for the welfare of the people of Cuttack from my college days. I have even gone to jail fighting for the welfare of the my people of Cuttack. I hope the people will stand with me and help me win.”

As per schedule, elections to 47 municipalities, 59 notified area councils and three municipal corporations, including CMC, will be held on March 24.

The election results will be declared on March 26.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.