Premier League Over Property Tax Collection In Odisha With Launch Of Online Payment Module

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Monday launched an online property tax module and Municipal Premier League (MPL) at Lok Seva Bhawan in Odisha capital.

Now, people residing under Bhubaneswar Municipality jurisdiction will be able to pay taxes online by logging into at their convenience. For denizens of urban local bodies (ULBs), the facility is available at

They can pay taxes online using credit card, debit card, net banking and e wallets.

The Housing and Urban Development Department has launched these facilities with a vision to keep citizens at the heart of the digital transformation of urban services and in accordance with the 5T initiatives for transforming urban governance from legacy systems to a digitized system, a official release said.

Speaking to mediapersons after the launch, Minister Housing & Urban Development Pratap Jena said,  “The online property tax module will benefit around 70 lakh people of 114 urban local bodies (ULBs) as they no longer have to visit any office to pay holding tax.”

The MPL is first-of-its-kind competition for the tax officials in the country. The objective of the League is to increase the tax revenue of ULBs and to make them self sustainable. Awards will be given to top five tax officials.

“The initiative has been taken to increase collection of taxes on a competitive mode. The competition will be held among  nine ULBs and reward will be given to the winning civic body,” said the Chief Minister.

” The resource generated can be used later for the development of the respective ULB. In the first phase, nine ULBs have been included. Of them, the five municipal corporations are Cuttack, Bhubaneswar, Berhampur, Rourkela and Sambalpur and the four municipalities are Puri, Balasore, Bhadrak and Baripada,” Jena further added.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.