RBI Imposes Penalty On This Bank In Rourkela; Know Why

Bhubaneswar: The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has imposed penalties on five cooperative banks, including Urban Co-operative Bank in Odisha’s Steel City Rourkela, for deficiencies in regulatory compliance.

A fine of Rs 10,000 has been imposed on the bank for contravention of norms related to Depositor Education and Awareness Fund, the RBI said in a statement.

While a penalty of Rs 25 lakh has been slapped on Karnataka State Co-operative Apex Bank, Bengaluru, for non-compliance with directions on ‘Housing Finance’, Thane Bharat Sahakari Bank Limited, Thane, has been fined Rs 15 lakh for contravention of the directions issued by RBI on ‘Customer Protection – Limiting Liability of Customers of Co-operative Banks in Unauthorised Electronic Banking Transactions’.

Similarly, a fine of Rs 5 lakh has been imposed on Rani Laxmibai Urban Co-operative Bank, Jhansi, for having failed to adhere to specific directions issued to it by RBI under Supervisory Action Framework (SAF) and Rs 2 lakh penalty on Nicholson Co-operative Town Bank (No.8), Thanjavur, Tamil Nadu for violation of directions issued under Exposure Norms and Statutory/Other Restrictions UCBs, the statement added.

The central bank, however, clarified that the penalties are based on deficiencies in regulatory compliance & are not intended to pronounce upon the validity of any transaction entered into by the banks with their customers.

(With PTI inputs)

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.