SOA Bhubaneswar Celebrates Utkal Divas By Remembering Architects Of Odisha State

Bhubaneswar: Along with the entire state, Siksha ‘O’ Anusandhan (SOA) Deemed to be University (SOA) on Monday observed the 89th Utkal Divas to commemorate creation of a separate Odisha state on linguistic basis on April 1, 1936.

Vice-Chancellor Prof. Pradipta Kumar Nanda, Deans of different institutes, faculty, senior officials and staff members paid floral tributes to the memory of Utkal Gaurab Madhusudan Das, Utkalmani Gopabandhu Das, Maharaja Krushna Chandra Gajapati Narayan Deo, Vyasakavi Fakir Mohan Senapati, poet Gangdhar Meher and Dr Harekrushna Mahtab — architects of the state’s creation.

Recalling the contribution of these leaders, Prof. Nanda said it was the responsibility of everyone now to strive to make Odisha a developed state by 2036.

Prof, Nanda, speaking during a discussion on the state’s progress, pointed out that scores of Odias had made huge contribution in various fields including art and culture, literature, science and technology, industry, education and sport over the decades.

Among others who shared their views were Pro-Vice Chancellor Prof. Sitikantha Mishra, Controller of Examination Prof. Manjula Das, Institute of Technical Education & Research Director Prof. Manas Kumar Mallick, Institute of Agricultural Sciences Dean Prof. Santosh Kumar Rout, Institute of Veterinary Sciences & Animal Husbandry Dean Prof. Brahmadev Pattnaik, School of Hotel Management Dean Prof. Susant Kumar Chaini, Dean (Students’ Welfare) Prof. Jyoti Ranjan Das, School of Pharmaceutical Sciences Additional Dean Prof. Debajyoti Das, ITER Additional Dean (Student Affairs), Prof. Renu Sharma, Legal Affairs Director Sanjay Kumar Sahu, HR Officer Sashank Choudhury and Joint Registrar Dr Madhubrata Mohanty.

It was decided that essay and debate competitions in Odia will be held prior to ‘Utkal Divas’ from next year to make the language popular among students of the university.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.