T20 World Cup: No Indian In Most Valuable Team; Is It A Fair Call?

Dubai: No Indian player has been named in the official Most Valuable Team of the ICC T20 World Cup tournament.

Pakistan captain Babar Azam, the tournament’s highest scorer, has been listed as captain of the most valuable team, which includes players from six teams.

India were considered to be one of the pre-tournament favourites for the title, but failed to qualify for the semifinals from the Super 12 stage. Defeats in their first two games – against Pakistan and New Zealand – cost them dear as they finished third in their group.

It’s not a surprise that eight of the 12 players are from the four semi-finalists – champions Australia, runners-up New Zealand, England and Pakistan. But two players each from Sri Lanka and South Africa have also been included.

The highly-rated Indians didn’t cover themselves with glory, but the likes of opener KL Rahul – who scored three half-centuries – and ace pacer Jasprit Bumrah could have been considered.

Selection panel convenor Ian Bishop, a former West Indian pacer, said there will be different opinions on any such team.

“As with any team selection there will be varying opinions, and robust discussion on the final composition of the squad. The panel rT20 world espects that, and we encourage the strong debate that will ensue. This team was incredibly difficult to select over such a highly competitive tournament. Selections were based predominantly on the Super 12 onward to the final,” Bishop said.

Australia beat New Zealand by 8 wickets in Dubai on Sunday night to win their maiden T20 World Cup.

Most Valuable Team (in batting order)

David Warner (Australia), Jos Buttler (, wicketkeeper, England), Babar Azam (captain, Pakistan), Charith Asalanka (Sri Lanka), Aiden Markram (South Africa), Moeen Ali (England), Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka), Adam Zampa (Australia), Josh Hazlewood (Australia), Trent Boult (New Zealand), Anrich Nortje (South Africa). 12th man — Shaheen Afridi (Pakistan).

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.