US Open 2020: World No.1 Novak Djokovic Disqualified For This Reason!

New York: World No. 1 Novak Djokovic was disqualified from the US Open after striking a lines umpire with a ball while playing against Spain’s Pablo Carreno Busta in a fourth-round match at the Flushing Meadows on Sunday.

It happened when the world No.1 was 5-6 down in the first set against the Spaniard. Djokovic hit a ball in the female official’s direction which struck her in the throat. She was heard gasping.

Djokovic was then seen rushing to her to check if she was okay. The woman official after few minutes stood up and walked off the court.

After about 10 minutes of discussion with the tournament referee, Pablo Carreno Busta was declared the winner by default thus putting end to the Serbian’s campaign at the Corona Park this year. Djokovic shook hands with the winner before leaving the court.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.