Utkal University To Award Honoris Causa To Shaktikanta Das, 4 Others

Bhubaneswar: Five noted personalities from Odisha will be conferred with the degree of Honoris Causa (Doctor of  Letters – D.Litt) during the convocation at Utkal University in Odisha capital.

Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu will be attending the event slated for April 3.

According to sources, Reserve Bank of India (RBI) Governor Shaktikanta Das, Justice Sanju Panda of Orissa High Court, Dr Ajit Kumar Mohanty of Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC), Comptroller and Auditor General of India Girish Chandra Murmu and Odisha Adarsha Vidyalaya Sangathan adviser Dr Bijaya Kumar Sahoo will be awarded D Litt (honoris causa) on the occasion.

The university will also award PhD degrees to 40 scholars, gold medals to 90 students and other awards including Chancellor’s Cup to 20 students.

Since the varsity could not hold its convocation ceremony last year due to the pandemic. It will hold an award-giving ceremony on April 1 to award PhD degrees to 127 scholars, DLitt to two scholars, gold medals to 90 students and 20 other awards for the 2018-19 academic session.

The last convocation of the university was conducted on March 29, 2019., during which 89 students had received gold medals. D Litt degree was awarded to two scholars, while 245 scholars were awarded PhD degrees.

Also Read: 5th Semester Exams Of Plus III Postponed By Utkal University In Bhubaneswar


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.