19 Airstrips & Airports Of Odisha Included In UDAN Scheme Document


Bhubaneswar: The Centre has included 19 unserved and underserved airstrips and airports of Odisha under UDAN (Ude Desh ka Aam Nagrik) scheme documents, Union Civil Aviation Minister Hardeep Singh Puri told the Rajya Sabha on Tuesday.

Replying to a question of BJD Rajya Sabha member Sasmit Patra, he informed that unserved and underserved airports and airstrips at Rourkela, Amarda Road (Mayurbhanj), Angul, Barbil (Keonjhar), Birasal (Dhenkanal), Gudari (Rayagada), Hirakud (Sambalpur), Jayakpur (Rayagada), Jeypore (Koraput), Lanjigarh (Kalahandi), Nuapada, Padampur (Bargarh), Rairangpur (Mayurbhanj), Raisuan (Keonjhar), Rangeilunda (Berhampur in Ganjam district), Sukinda (Jajpur), Therubali (Rayagada), Tusra (Balangir) and Utkela (Kalahandi) in Odisha have been included in the UDAN scheme document.

He said that four airports at Jharsuguda, Rourkela, Jeypore and Utkela are being upgraded and developed on the basis of the routes awarded under the scheme.

If any valid bid is received in the future rounds, the same will be considered as per the scheme document, he pointed out.

Four rounds of bidding to further enhance the connectivity to remote and regional areas of the country have been conducted so far.

Also Read: Three Reasons To Cheer For Odisha’s Air Travellers

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.