Actors Who Lost; Glamour Quotient Is Not A Potion For Votes


Bhubaneswar: Success in the film industry does not necessarily translate into success in politics because it is a different ball game altogether. The glamour may pull crowds but again, it does not necessarily translate into votes.

Many Ollywood actors and actresses have aspired to try their luck in politics. Not all have succeeded. Many have burnt their fingers.

In this general election, only three stars got the party tickets. Only Anubhav Mohanty emerged winner. He got the BJD ticket from Kendrapara Parliamentary constituency and has won it by 1.52 lakh votes defeating BJP vice president, Baijayant.

Others have not been that fortunate. Noted Ollywood actress Aparajita Mohanty got the BJP ticket for Bhubaneswar (North) and  Pinky Pradhan got the ticket for Digapahandi Assembly constituency from the same party.

Aparajita Mohanty lost the seat to BJD’s Susant Kumar Rout.


Likewise, Pinky Pradhan lost the Digapahandi Assembly seat to BJD’s Surya Narayan Patro.


Both are popular in film industry and have a good fan following.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.