Election To Patkura Assembly Seat On May 19


Bhubaneswar: Election to Patkura Assembly seat will be held on May 19, said the Election Commission of India (ECI) in a notification on Wednesday.

According to the notification, the last day of filing of nomination is May 1. Verification of the nomination papers will be done on May 2 while the last date for withdrawal is May 4.

It may be mentioned here that the election to Patkura Assembly seat was scheduled in the fourth and final phase on April 29. However, election was countermanded by the ECI following the death of BJD candidate Bed Prakash Agarwalla.

While the BJP, Congress and other political parties have already finalized the name of their candidate for Patkura seat, the BJD will have announce the party nominee.

Sources in the BJD said that the party leadership is most likely field the son of Bed Prakash Agarwalla as its candidate for Patkura seat.

Notably, the BJD had fielded Rita Sahu for the by-election to the Bijepur Assembly seat after the death of her husband and sitting Congress MLA Subala Sahu.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.