Good News For Indians: Russia Announces 11-Hour Ceasefire In Sumy, 3 Other Cities

Moscow: There’s reassuring news for Indians waiting to be evacuated from war-hit Ukraine, especially those in north-eastern city Sumy.

Russian military have declared a ceasefire four major cities – Kyiv, Sumy, Kharkiv and Mariupol.

Humanitarian corridors to allow safe passage for civilians wanting to get out of under-attack Ukraine will open at 10 am Moscow time (12.30 pm IST) and continue for 11 hours, according to Reuters.

All Indians have been evacuated from Kharkiv and Kyiv, but there is a substantial number of Indian nationals – mostly students, including 5 from Odisha – who are still stranded in Sumy.

On Sunday, a similar ceasefire had been announced in Mariupol. But Ukraine claimed that after a brief pause, Russians resumed firing and airstrikes.

Russia and Ukraine are scheduled to hold another round of talks later on Monday. The two previous attempts – since Russia invaded Ukraine on February 24 — to reach an understanding were futile.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.