ODI Champions England Are Now T20 World Cup Winners; Pakistan Come Up Short

Melbourne: England lifted the T20 World Cup beating Pakistan by 5 wickets in the final in front of another capacity crowd at the massive Melbourne Cricket Ground here on Sunday.

After restricting Pakistan to 137/8, thanks to a brilliant performance by Player of the Final and Player of the Tournament Sam Curran (4-0-12-3), England survived a few hiccups to get over the line with a full over to spare.

England thus became the first team to hold both white-ball World Cup titles at the same time, having clinched the 2019 ODI World Cup on home turf.

England’s only previous T20 World Cup triumph was in 2010, when they beat Australia by 7 wickets at Bridgetown.

It was Ben Stokes who held the innings together after Pakistan reduced England to 45/3. The left-hander remained unbeaten on 52 off 49 balls. Shaheen Shah Afridi dismissed India’s tormentor Alex Hales for just 1 run and Haris Rauf accounted for dangerous looking captain Jos Buttler for a 17-ball 26.

But then Stokes quelled a spirited Pakistan attack, with some help from Harry Brook and Moeen Ali.

Shaheen Shah’s injury while taking the catch of Brook didn’t help Pakistan’s cause. The crafty left-arm seamer, who hobbled out of the ground, did come back and try to bowl the 16th but had to abort his valiant effort after bowling only one ball.

That made England’s task slightly easier and Stokes made no mistake.

Brief scores: Pakistan 137/8 in 20 overs (Shan Masood 38; Sam Curran 3/12, Adil Rashid 2/22, Chris Jordan 2/27). England 138/5 in 19 overs (Ben Stokes 52*; Haris Rauf 2/23).

Result: England won by 5 wickets.

Player of the Final: Sam Curran.

Player of the Tournament: Sam Curran.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.